Sarah Vaughan (1924-1990) er solist med Joe Lippman (arrangør, dirigent og trompet), Jimmy Maxwell (trompet). Henry W. Rowland (piano), Bob Haggart (bass), Norris “Bunny” Shawker (trommer) og CBS Studio Orchestra, i et opptak fra 1949. Teksten er skrevet av Paul Francis Webster, og musikken av Sonny Burke.

I’m feelin’ mighty lonesome, haven’t slept a wink
I walk the floor and watch the door and in between I drink
Black coffee love the hand-me-down brew
I’ll never know a Sunday in this weekday room.

I’m talkin to the shadows one o’clock till four
And Lord, how slow the moments go when all I do is pour
Black coffee since the blues caught my eye
I’m hangin’ out on Monday my Sunday dreams to dry.

Now man is born to go on lovin’
And a woman’s born to weep and fret
And stay at home to tend her oven
And down her past regrets in coffee and cigarettes.

I’m moanin’ all the mornin’, moanin’ all the night
And in between it’s nicotine and not much heart to fight
Coffee feelin’ low as the ground
It’s drivin’ me crazy, this waitin’ for my baby
To maybe come around.


Læs også

Mest læst

De smarte smutter i Sverige

Læs også